Skip to product information
1 of 2

MONA MUR - The Original Band (1984-86)

MONA MUR - The Original Band (1984-86)

Regular price $33.00 USD
Regular price $36.00 USD Sale price $33.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Feat. members of Einsturzende Neubauten...

In fall 1984, she formed a new Mona Mur band with FM Einheit and Alexander Hacke, joined by Flucht nach Vorn keyboardist Nikko Weidemann (today Moka Efti Orchestra), Siewert Johannsen (guitar, Stricher), and Thomas Stern (bass, Crime and the City Solution). This Mona Mur band was recorded and mixed live by Raymond "Nainz" Watts (Einstürzende Neubauten, Psychic TV, KMFDM) at his Building Site studio in Hamburg. The band played acclaimed concerts in Germany and Europe, as well as festivals, such as the renowned Pandora's Box in Rotterdam. Their manically intense live performance in guitar thunderstorms and morbid slowbeat chic and especially their seminal Brecht/Weill interpretations ("Surabaya Johnny", "Der Song von Mandelay", "Die Ballade vom Ertrunkenen Mädchen") are still cult today. The band broke up in spring of '86, and Mona Mur embarked on a solo career. The recordings, made between 1984-1986, had never been released... until now.

View full details